Fit Indices PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Anthony S. Boyce posted on Wednesday, March 28, 2007 - 3:02 pm
A colleague and I both recently ran the same model on the same data, I used MPlus and he used LISREL. Our models were identical although the chi-square values differed by 2.0 and some of the estimates differed by less than .01. However, the CFI and TLI indices were substantially different (i.e., MPLUS: CFI=.73, TLI=.72; LISREL: CFI=.89, TLI/NNFI=.88). Do you have any idea why the fit indices would be so different?

Thanks very much for any help you can provide.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Thursday, March 29, 2007 - 8:40 am
I suspect that your model has covariates. In this case, the baseline model differs between LISREL and Mplus. The baseline model in LISREL does not contain covariances among the covariates. In Mplus, it does.
 laura smith posted on Friday, February 01, 2008 - 2:25 pm
hello:

i am a beginner to SEM and to Mplus, so thanks in advance for your patience.

my question is: can fit indices be too high? initially, i ran the measurement portion of my model and obtained a nonsignificant chi-square (good) but a CFI of .88, a TLI of .65, and an RMSEA of .25 (not so good).

next, as one of the model modification indices was theoretically consistent with my model, i added it (it was a WITH path). Consequently, the last three fit indices improved dramatically(CFI=1, TLI=1, RMSEA=0).

The model is not just-identified, but it has only one degree of freedom. could that be the "problem" that is creating a near-perfect model fit?

also, as i went on to the structural model, the degree of freedom increased, but the fit indices remained at those high levels.

i would like to be happy about the seemingly excellent fit of this model, but it seems suspicious to me. can you suggest some factors that i should investigate to see whether they are inflating these indices spuriously?