SAS data to Mplus PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Anonymous posted on Thursday, December 12, 2002 - 10:04 am
I am new to Mplus.
How to transform a SAS dataset into the form by which Mplus can manipulate?

Daniel
 bmuthen posted on Thursday, December 12, 2002 - 10:31 am
You save your data in ASCII format.
 Anonymous posted on Monday, December 16, 2002 - 10:59 am
Hinted by FAQ from a University web, we can export SAS data in any one of the three forms which Mplus can recognize:
tab-delimited
space-delimited
comma-delimited

I export a SAS data as tab-delimited form (*.txt file) where the first variable is sbv26t1. I run a checking program, then I get a hint:

*** ERROR
Invalid symbol in data file:
"SBV26T1" at record #: 1, field #: 1
What is wrong?

Daniel
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Monday, December 16, 2002 - 11:04 am
You need to remove the variable names from the first record of the data file.
 Anonymous posted on Sunday, September 18, 2005 - 6:39 pm
Hi Bengt,

I am new to Mplus. Could you give me some advices on the error messages? My input is:

TITLE: this is an example of a CFA with
categorical factor indicators
DATA: FILE IS J_201.dat;
VARIABLE: NAMES ARE Item1-Item12;
CATEGORICAL ARE Item1-Item12;
MODEL: f1 BY Item2 Item5 Item6 Item9;
f2 BY Item1 Item3 Item4 Item7 Item8 Item12;
f3 BY Item10 Item11

The error messages are:

ERROR
The number of observations is 0. Check your data and format statement.
Data file: J_201.dat
*** ERROR
"2.001.001.001.001.00" at record #: 1, field #: 1

Thank you for your help
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Tuesday, September 20, 2005 - 8:12 am
It looks like your data are fixed format and you are reading them as free format. Try adding a FORMAT statement. If this does not help, send your input, data, output, and license number to support@statmodel.com.
 Anonymous posted on Wednesday, September 21, 2005 - 4:38 am