How to or should I request a composit... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 TemperanceJan posted on Monday, April 16, 2018 - 10:12 am
Hello all,

I'm new to Mplus and SEM so please bear with me.

I wanted to create a latent variable called 'benefit perception', but there are only two indicators (personal and societal level)that are used to measure the latent construct. As I was taught, latent should have at least 3 indicators. What should I do with this situation?

I am thinking of using the mean of the two indicators (like creating a composite variable) as a new indicator variable. Would it work? If so, what the appropriate syntax be?

Thank you so much!
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 4:27 pm
2 indicators isn't great (sensitive to mispecification), but ok in a bigger model.

You can use the MEAN option

ymean = MEAN(y1 y2);
 TemperanceJan posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 1:02 pm
Thank you so much Dr. Muthen for your clarification! Another question I have is that, is it doable to add multiple control variable to the SEM? Say if I want to control for age (C1), gender (C2), income (C3), and education levels (C4) in the model, do I just regress the control variables on the outcome variables? Like Y1 on C1 C2 C3 C4?

Thank you so much!
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 3:50 pm
Right.
 TemperanceJan posted on Sunday, April 22, 2018 - 5:54 pm
Thank you Dr.Muthen.

I am also wondering, does MLR handle both normally distributed and non-normally distributed missing data? In other words, MLR is robust enough to handle both situations only that the SEs would be different? Thank you!
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Monday, April 23, 2018 - 4:47 pm
MLR is not totally robust to missing data where the normality assumption behind the missing data handling, as in regular FIML, doesn't hold. See articles by Savalei, e.g. in the SEM journal.
 TemperanceJan posted on Monday, April 23, 2018 - 7:02 pm