Mediation and continuous time to event PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Jill McClain posted on Monday, January 28, 2008 - 10:18 am
Hi. I'm a doctoral student in nutrition epidemiology. I am relatively new to SEM, but am hoping to use it for my dissertation to test mediation of the relationship between body mass index (BMI) and Coronary Heart Disease (CHD) hazard. I have continuous time-to-event (censored) CHD data, and BMI and all potential mediators are continuous, though I have some dichotomous exogenous covariates, such as gender. I understand this is doable in Mplus, but I've seen no papers testing mediation of a continuous time to event outcome and only a few papers at all on survival analysis in SEM. But I'm more familiar with the medical literature, so I'm probably not doing a very good job of searching other literature. So my questions are: a) can someone confirm that testing mediation of censored continuous time to event is doable (in Mplus), and b) does anyone know of any papers on similar analyses? Any advice would be very much appreciated. Thanks.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Monday, January 28, 2008 - 12:32 pm
A time-to-event variable can be used as a mediator, for example,

y ON t;
t ON x;

where t is the time-to-event variable.

The regression of t ON x is a Cox regression. In the regression of y ON t, t is treated as a continuous variable as are all covariates.

Continuous-time survival analysis is not part of SEM. It can be carried out in Mplus because Mplus is not an SEM program but a latent variable modeling program where SEM is a special case.
 Jill McClain posted on Friday, February 01, 2008 - 11:53 am