Interactions between observed variables PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Manon LeBlanc posted on Tuesday, July 22, 2008 - 12:38 pm
Hi,

I am currently at the beginning stages of learning Mplus (version 4.1 [a friend is letting me use his computer while he is on holidays])to analyze some data. I am testing a path analysis and want to test for moderation. I see on page 481 in the manual, that I should use the define command. If I were doing a latent variable analysis, I would have the following:

Analysis:
Type = random;
Algorithm =integration.
(1)Is this what I should type for my model?

(2)Do I simply muliply my two variables to create the interaction?

(3)I have 5 possible moderators. Do I test five different models or one model with the five?

Any help is appreciated. I am a PhD student and am just learning this program.
Thanks.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Tuesday, July 22, 2008 - 1:55 pm
If the interaction is between two observed variables, you would multiply them together. If one of the variables is a latent variable, you would use the XWITH command. See the user's guide on the website for further information.
 Ji-hyun (Jason) Kim posted on Monday, January 26, 2009 - 2:02 pm
Hi,

My theory suggests that I need to estimate a set of equations like the following:

y1 = gamma11x1 + e1 (Eq.1)
y2 = beta21y1 + gamma21x2 + beta22y1x2 + e2 (Eq.2)
Cov(e1, e2) = 0

As you see there is an interaction term in Eq.2 that contains y1. When I substitute (Eq.1) in (Eq.2), x2 is correlated with the error term, which causes an endogeneity problem. I found a friend of mine who has Mplus program. The program does not seem to support a model I suggested. Being less familiar with SEM literature, I haven't been able to find a correct way of estimating beta22. 2SLS wouldn't work either due to non-linearity. Could someone help me on this issue?

Thank you.
 Tihomir Asparouhov posted on Monday, January 26, 2009 - 6:08 pm