Longitudinal mediation PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Jean Bradley posted on Friday, April 03, 2009 - 10:11 pm
I am assessing longitudinal mediation. I am new to MPLUS and am in need of some advice/guidance to make sure my code is correct & that my models include everything they should (and should not). I have 3 time points (1,2,3), X=intervention group assignment, M=mediator, and Y= outcome. Here is what I have for code:

names are X M1 M2 M3 Y1 Y2 Y3;

use variables are X M1 M2 Y1 Y2 Y3;
missing are all (-99);

Type = missing h1 meanstructure;
bootstrap = 1000;

Model:
M2 on X M1;
Y2 on Y1 X;
Y3 on Y2 M2 X;

Model Indirect:
Y3 on M2 X;

1. My first question is do I need to include a "with" statement, and if so, which variables should be included?

2. Can the following model statements be combined, or is it correct to separate them?
Y2 on Y1 X;
Y3 on Y2 M2 X;

OR combined to

Y3 on Y2 M2 Y1 X; (and should M1 be included in this statement as well if I should combined them?)

I appreciate any help you can provide! I do have MacKinnon's mediation book which has been great, but I am unsure about this issue based on his chapters.
Thanks.
Jean
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Saturday, April 04, 2009 - 4:32 pm
1. y2 and m2 should have a residual covariance, so if you don't see that in the Mplus output you should add it. For the other DVs you cannot identify residual covariances because they are already regressed on each other.

Btw, are you sure you don't want to regress y2 on M1?

2. No you cannot combine them as you write it - your combined statement does not express y and m2 as dependent variables (dependent variables appear on the left-hand side of ON).
 Jean Bradley posted on Monday, April 27, 2009 - 5:49 pm
Dr. Muthen,
Thanks for your response, it was VERY helpful.