Sample size PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Daniel posted on Monday, August 16, 2004 - 8:19 am
Hi, I'm working on a proposal where I am looking at the effects of physical activity on smoking. However, I only have two time points and a relatively small budget. The issue is that I need to have as small a sample as possible to find an adequate result. Since I only have two time points, I'm thinking the benefits of repeated measures are not there like there would be had I had a larger sample. Do you have any suggestions of how I would approach this question?
By the way, my outcome will be an ordered categorical variable.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Monday, August 16, 2004 - 6:01 pm
You can use Monte Carlo simulations to determine how large of a sample you will need with two time points to have the power to detect the effect that you are interested in.
 Anonymous posted on Tuesday, August 17, 2004 - 5:14 am
Hi, I am new to MPlus. I have some troubles with converting sav-files into dat--files. I just saved an existing sav-file as a ascii dat file and ran the programm. It gave me following hint:

My categorical variable has 39 categories, which exceeds the maximum of 10 for a categorical variable.

My categorical variable has only 2 categories 0 and 1 and some missing cases.
What went wrong. Do you have an idea?
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Tuesday, August 17, 2004 - 7:22 am
I would have to see the saved data set to know for sure, but I suspect that you are reading it with a free format and have blanks in the data for missing values causing it to be read incorrectly. You would need to send the input and data to support@statmodel.com for me to give a definite answer.
 Todd Huschka posted on Tuesday, September 28, 2004 - 11:41 am
Is there a way to perform Power Calculations with Mplus?
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Wednesday, September 29, 2004 - 3:51 pm