XWITH PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Carol Van Hulle posted on Tuesday, August 02, 2005 - 1:17 pm
Hi,

I am just starting to learn Mplus. I am interested in using MPLUS to model twin data. Right now I am trying to fit a standard ACE model but including a covariate that moderates the path from the latent variables to the observed phenotypes (similar to the model presented in Purcell, 2002, Twin Resarch) Is XWITH appropriate for this?

Thank you.
 bmuthen posted on Monday, August 08, 2005 - 1:16 pm
Yes, XWITH is suitable for this.
 Carol Van Hulle posted on Thursday, March 22, 2007 - 2:03 pm
Dear Drs. Muthen,

I am using simulated twin data to test a GxE interaction model. I'm using XWITH to specify an interaction between an observed moderator (m1 and m2) and latent genetic (A) and environmental (E) factors:

I have no problem running the model using multiple groups and the EM algorithm.
However, eventually I want to include interactions between latent factors which requires using numerical integration (=montecarlo)

The problem is I get the error message shown below, regardless of what my simulation conditions are. If I take out the interactions the model runs fine, so the problem must have something to do with them. Do you have any tricks you could recommend?

Thank you, Carol

RANDOM STARTS RESULTS RANKED FROM THE BEST TO THE WORST LOGLIKELIHOOD VALUES

Unperturbed starting value run did not converge.

10 perturbed starting value run(s) did not converge.

Loglikelihood values at local maxima, seeds, and initial stage start numbers:

1 perturbed starting value run(s) did not converge.

THE ESTIMATED COVARIANCE MATRIX IN CLASS 2 COULD NOT
BE INVERTED. COMPUTATION COULD NOT BE COMPLETED IN ITERATION 1.
CHANGE YOUR MODEL AND/OR STARTING VALUES.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Thursday, March 22, 2007 - 2:32 pm