Cross-Level Interaction PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Kai Rödiger posted on Monday, September 30, 2013 - 2:29 am
Dear Linda and Bengt,

I'm quite new to MPlus and Multilevel Modelling but I figured out most of the basic stuff quite well. Now I have serious problems with a Cross-Level Interaction and need your help to know if it is possible at all to have a model like this.

So in short: I have LVL 2 measurements at the employee lvl (customer attitude) and LVL 1 measures at the customer LVL (perception of behavior).

I want this path to be moderated by the age difference between employee and customer modelled by (AE - AC). Each employee has up to 3 matched customers so there are up to 3 different values for Delta Age.

--------------------------Delta Age (I think this has to be a Within-Variable)
-----------------------------|
-----------------------------v
Employee Behavior (L2) ----> Customer Perception (L1)

I tried various ways to define the slopes in the within and between part of the model but none of them worked out. Could you give me a hint if at all (and if yes how) such a relationship can be modelled?

Best regards and thank you very very much in advance,
Kai
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Monday, September 30, 2013 - 6:40 am
Example 9.2 shows how to model a cross-level interaction.
 Kai Rödiger posted on Tuesday, October 01, 2013 - 2:22 am
Thank you for your quick answer but I think my problem is a different one.

Example 9.2 shows a a LVL 2 Variable moderating a LVL 1 -> LVL 1 path.

What I want to model is a LVL 2 Variable moderating a LVL 2 -> LVL 1 path.

Is this possible at all? Thank you very much in advance for your answer again and I hope you can help me.

Best regards,
Kai
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Tuesday, October 01, 2013 - 9:51 am
I think what you want is

USEVARIABLES = y x z w zw;
WITHIN = x;
BETWEEN = z w;
DEFINE:
zw = z*w;

MODEL:
%WITHIN%
y ON x;
%BETWEEN%
y ON z w zw;