Fit-Indices are too good PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Julia Kamischke posted on Thursday, June 09, 2016 - 1:31 am
I'm currently using Mplus 7 (demo version) to perform an Actor Partner Interdependence Mediation Model. The fit indices for my model are good, in fact they are too good.
I'm quite new to Mplus and I don't really know why they are so over the top.

Number of Free Parameters 27

H0 Value -3062.519
H0 Scaling Correction Factor 1.0254
for MLR
H1 Value -3062.519
H1 Scaling Correction Factor 1.0254
for MLR

Akaike (AIC) 6179.039
Bayesian (BIC) 6269.920
Sample-Size Adjusted BIC 6184.364
Value 0.000*
Degrees of Freedom 0
P-Value 0.0000
Scaling Correction Factor 1.0000
for MLR
Estimate 0.000
90 Percent C.I. 0.000 0.000
Probability RMSEA <= .05 0.000

CFI 1.000 TLI 1.000

Chi-Square Test of Model Fit for the Baseline Model
Value 217.002
Degrees of Freedom 14
P-Value 0.0000

SRMR
Value 0.000
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Thursday, June 09, 2016 - 6:19 am
The model has zero degrees of freedom. Model fit cannot be assessed in this case.
 Andrea M Reina Tamayo posted on Wednesday, January 08, 2020 - 9:25 am
I have the same problem with my path models. CFI is exactly 1 and the TLI is greater than 1. SRMR = 0.005, RMSEA = 0.00
However, The chi-square test of model fit indicates a value of 1.523 with 2 degrees of freedom and the number of free parameters is 25.

But does these high values of CFI/TLI indicate that there are problems with my model?
I don't get any errors and the findings are highly in line with the theoretical expectations.

What can I do about this? Do you have any references about TLI greater than 1? or having such good indices?

Thank you in advance!
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Wednesday, January 08, 2020 - 10:58 am