Adjusted Estimated Means PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Harshini Shah posted on Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 9:49 am
Hello,

I am new to mplus and using it for the first time to run a multilevel model. I am using a two-level model and estimating the impact of an intervention on several outcomes. One of the covariates is dummy-coded to indicate intervention status.

My question is- how do I get adjusted means by intervention status for this model (i.e, adjusted mean for the intervention and control groups)?
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 1:57 pm
You don't say on which level the intervention is and you don't say what you mean by adjusted mean (adjusted for what?).
 HShah posted on Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 2:03 pm
Apologies for the lack of information.

Level 2: classroom
Level 1: sex, race, pretest scores, etc. and intervention status (0/1)

I'm trying to figure out how to get adjusted means and standard errors controlling for all the covariates in the model.

I hope this clarifies things!
 HShah posted on Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 2:05 pm
Edit to add: adjusted means and standard errors for intervention status controlling for all covariates in the model. In SAS (which I am more familiar with), you would use the lsmeans statement to get this.
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 5:22 pm
I think that is simply the slope for the 0/1 dummy covariate.
 HShah posted on Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 5:31 pm
I'm a little confused. Are you saying the adjusted mean and standard errors for the intervention and control group (based on my dummy coded level 1 variable for intervention status) are present in the output? Or is there a special command I need to use to obtain these?
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 5:43 pm
Q1 Yes.

Q2 No.
 HShah posted on Friday, August 12, 2016 - 6:45 am