Using only the within or between matrix PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Anonymous posted on Thursday, June 12, 2003 - 12:31 pm
I’m a novice in analysing multilevel data. A couple of weeks ago, I bought Mplus and now I have several questions that I’d like you to answer.

1. Two-level option

Hox’s program SPLIT2 produces three kinds of matrices: (1) pooled within groups, (2) scaled between groups, (3) rough estimate of between groups. All of them are included in Mplus. Am I correct in assuming that the third is the one Mplus uses to calculate the between model? Please explain to me why it is the third and not the second one.

2. Using only the within or between matrix

Is it appropriate to do analysis only on either the within or between level, in conjunction with the corresponding matrix?

If I would do so, what is the proper meaning of the results? For an analysis done on the pooled within matrix, do the results reflect the “pure” relationships on the individual level adjusted for the fact of cluster-membership?

When only working on the between level, which of the two between matrices do I have to use? Do the results reflect the “real” relationships on the between level? Have they been adjusted at all?

Could I use the matrices for further calculations e.g. in SPSS (with corrected N in the case of the within matrix: N-nCluster)?

Does it make any sense to calculate on one level and are the results reliable enough to be published in a paper (e.g. in the case of only a few clusters)?

3. How does one do an analysis only on the within or between level in Mplus? Does one need to use SAVEDATA?

I would be very grateful to you for an answer.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Friday, June 13, 2003 - 6:32 am
1. I am not familiar with Hox's terminology. With the MUML estimator, Mplus analyzes SW and SB. See formulas 197 and 198 on page 380-381 of the Mplus User's Guide. With maximum likelihood estimation, Mplus analyzes raw data.