Within level matrix and between level... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Edward Mak posted on Sunday, June 08, 2008 - 2:38 am
I am a beginner of Mplus, and I am trying to run a multilevel analysis.
After running the program, a within level matrix and a between level matrix are shown.

My aim is to get one sample between-groups covariance matrix and one pooled wtihin-groups covariance matrix for inputing into a LISREL program.

However, I know that the sample between-groups covariance matrix equals to the summation of unbiased estimate of population within-groups covariance matrix and a scalar times the population between-groups covariance matrix.

So my questions are:
1. the between level matrix offered by Mplus is the sample between-groups covariance matrix or the population between-groups covariance matrix.

2. if the between level matrix offered by Mplus is the population between-groups covariance matrix, can I get the scalar by Mplus?

Thank you very much.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Sunday, June 08, 2008 - 5:04 pm
1. What is printed depends on the scale of the dependent variables. See the SAMPLE and SIGB options of the SAVEDATA command for more information.

2. See Formula 201 of Technical Appendix 10 on the website or use the average cluster size as an approximation.
 Edward Mak posted on Monday, June 09, 2008 - 6:53 pm
Dear Linda,
Thank you for your quick reply.
I'm sorry that I still do not understand.
The following is part of the printed results .Would you mind spend some time to take a look?

SAMPLE STATISTICS
NOTE: The sample statistics for within and between refer to the maximum-likelihood estimated within and between covariance matrices, respectively.

ESTIMATED SAMPLE STATISTICS FOR WITHIIN
ESTIMATED SAMPLE STATISTICS FOR BETWEEN

My questions are
1. Is the matrix of the print-out "ESTIMATED SAMPLE STATISTICS FOR WITHIIN" = unbiased estimator of the pooled within-groups covatiance?