Model fit indices in Multilevel SEM PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Tony Reed posted on Monday, August 01, 2011 - 4:08 am
Dear Dr. Muthen,

I am still learning multilevel CFA and multilevel SEM. Yet there is one thing I read from papers that confused me with what the Mplus manuals presented.

Specifically, I read about papers applying multilevel SEM, in which they reported CFI, TLI, RMSEA, and SRMR. But, in the Mplus manual sample codes and results (e.g., 9.10 or 9.8), none of these were reported.... So, is it possible to request such model fit indices through multilevel SEM or not?

Also, I saw researchers report RMSEA/SRMR while specifying it's for between or within level. Is that correct?

Thanks!
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Monday, August 01, 2011 - 10:39 am
You can obtain chi-square and related fit statistics with multilevel models if you use the weighted least squares estimator. These are given for both levels.

When TYPE=RANDOM is used, only maximum likelihood estimation is available. Chi-square and related fit statistics are not available in this cases.
 Tony Reed posted on Monday, August 01, 2011 - 10:33 pm
thank you for your response!! it makes sense!!
 Jinxin ZHU posted on Friday, February 05, 2016 - 2:21 am
Dear Prof. Muthen,

Do Mplus report confidential interval of RMSEA in multilevel analysis?

If not, would you please attach a reference so that I can cite in my manuscript?

Thank you very much.
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Friday, February 05, 2016 - 5:56 pm
I don't think we do - check the output.
 Jinxin ZHU posted on Friday, February 05, 2016 - 6:05 pm
Dear Prof. Muthen,

Thank you so much for your prompt reply.

The confidence interval of RMSEA was not reported in the output.

Is there any technical issue or will it be added in later version?

Thank you very much!
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Friday, February 05, 2016 - 6:06 pm
I am not sure at this point.