PLOT 3 LCGA with covariate PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Latent Variable Mixture Modeling >
Message/Author
 Christine Bobbel posted on Sunday, March 17, 2013 - 6:15 am
Hello,

I got the following problem with an LCGA (4 classes and one covariate): The output is saying that my slope for class 1 is negative (-2.627), but the graph (estimated means)for this class is showing a positive slope. I don't understand how this can be?

I am an absolute beginner working with Mplus and it would be wonderful if you could help me. Thank you very much!!
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Sunday, March 17, 2013 - 7:48 am
The graph plots the means. In your model with a covariate, the intercepts are estimated not the means.
 Christine Bobbel posted on Sunday, March 17, 2013 - 8:48 am
Ok, thank you so much. Just to make sure I got it right:

This output shows the intercepts (NOT the means as in a model without covariate):

Intercepts

I 22.007 2.332 9.436 0.000
S -2.421 0.781 -3.101 0.002

And this one the effects for the regression of the intercept and slope on the covariate:

I ON
BAGE -0.009 0.019 -0.466 0.641

S ON
BAGE 0.027 0.008 3.446 0.001
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Sunday, March 17, 2013 - 8:54 am
In a conditional model, a model with covariates, the intercepts of the intercept and slope growth factors are estimated. In an unconditional model, a model without covariates, the means of the intercept and slope growth factors are estimated.
 TJ posted on Wednesday, January 01, 2020 - 12:33 pm
I would like to clarify what is the function of "specify value for variable" when plotting graphs with covariates? I am trying to plot seperate graphs for Males and Females. I checked the User Guide but it does not give detailed explaination about the function of each button. Are there resources that can help me better understand what I should be entering into those boxes when trying to plot my graphs with covariates?
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, January 02, 2020 - 12:11 pm