Saving class/cluster membership PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Latent Variable Mixture Modeling >
Message/Author
 Sheung-Tak Cheng posted on Monday, March 09, 2020 - 11:05 pm
I apologize in advance for perhaps a stupid question. After LCA, how do I save the class membership (i.e., which participant belongs to which class)? What would be the syntax and where should it appear in the syntax file?
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Tuesday, March 10, 2020 - 10:30 am
Savedata:

save = cprob;
file = ...
 Sheung-Tak Cheng posted on Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 4:17 am
Dear Dr. Muthen,

Many thanks. May I ask you a related question about no. of class decision?

In my analysis, BIC suggests 3 classes whereas aBIC suggests 4 classes. At the same time, BLRT keeps suggesting further differentiating the sample to 5 classes or more.

Under the circumstances, what should I do to determine the optimal no. of classes?

Tak
 Sheung-Tak Cheng posted on Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 5:45 am
Sorry, I am new to LCA. I have now also referred to the Lo-Mendell-Rubin test which surprisingly was not significant in the comparison between 4 and 3 classes. But BLRT has a p < .001. Why is there such a big discrepancy between the two tests? What should I do given the discrepancy?

So my questions are twofold: 1) How do I reconcile the differences between BIC and aBIC (or more commonly labeled ssaBIC); 2) How do I reconcile the differences between BLRT and LMR?

Apology for so many questions.
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 3:48 pm
These fit measures often give different results. I would simply use BIC.
 Sheung-Tak Cheng posted on Thursday, March 12, 2020 - 9:51 pm
Many thanks for your reply. The problem is that journal reviewers often want a range of statistics... Anyway, I have further questions and hope you don't mind: