Dual Trajectory Analysis PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Latent Variable Mixture Modeling >
Message/Author
 Chris Blanchard posted on Thursday, November 18, 2010 - 4:55 am
Hi,
i'm new to MPlus and have a question. I have data where we tracked patients with heart disease for 1 year and have physical activity measurements at baseline, 3, 6, 9, and 12 months. I performed a growth-mixture model to identify the number of classes for two intensities (i.e., light and moderate) controlling for age and gender. I identified two classes for each intensity. Now that I have this information, I want to know the probability of a patient transitioning from a light intensity trajectory into a moderate intensity trajectory (and vice versa). I believe this can be done via dual trajectory analysis, but I'm not sure this can be done in MPlus. If it is, can someone direct me to an example. Thanks very much,
chris
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, November 18, 2010 - 7:46 am
Is "intensity" a dichotomous covariate?

What are the two processes in the dual trajectory analysis you have in mind?
 Chris Blanchard posted on Thursday, November 18, 2010 - 7:58 am
No. I ran a separate growth mixture model for light intensity and one for moderate intensity (syntax for light is below).

USEV ARE age gender light1 light2 light3 light4 light5;

IDVARIABLE = id;

CATEGORICAL = gender;

CLASSES = c(2);

ANALYSIS:
TYPE = MIXTURE;
STARTS 20 2;
MITERATION = 300;
ALGORITHM=INTEGRATION;

MODEL:
%OVERALL%
i s | light2@0 light3@1 light4@2 light5@3;
i s on light1;
i s on age;
i s on gender;
[light1];
[age];

is this syntax correct? If so, i'm hopoing to show that as time goes on, patients transition into doing more moderate intensity PA...from reading the lit., i thought i had to do a dual trajectory analysis, but perhaps there is another type of analysis I could do? Thanks for your help in advance!
chris
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, November 18, 2010 - 5:30 pm