LCA and covariates PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Latent Variable Mixture Modeling >
Message/Author
 Anonymous posted on Tuesday, June 14, 2005 - 8:37 am
Hello,
I am new to MPLUS and LCA. I am interested in performing LCA with 4 subscale scores and 2 single items scores in a sample of 445 participants. I want like to include seven categorical covariates and 4 continuous covariates. I have tested multiple solutions (a 1 class though a 6 class solution), and I have a couple of questions regarding the results.

Here is some information that you might need
1)The output contained a warning that one or more multinomial logit parameters were fixed to avoid singularity of the information matrix…but that it terminated normally. Does this mean the model did not run properly?

2)In the categorical latent variable section (relationship between the covariates and teach class) the estimates were huge (ex. 1169.266), the SEs were low (ex 1.033) and the Estimates/SE were huge for each covariate. In three of the groups all the covariates were significant

3)In the 4th groups all the SE were 0 and the Estimates/SE were 0.

I am wondering if the program corrected the problem so this is a valid (although odd) solution.

I am also wondering if there is a limit of the number of covariates.

Thanks!!
 BMuthen posted on Tuesday, June 14, 2005 - 9:29 am
1. No, it means that for some in some classes there is no variablity for some of the covariates so the regression coefficient is not defined.

2. This sounds like the same problem as in 1.

3. This sounds like the same problem as in 1 also. Although there is no absolute limit to the number of covariates, it is problematic when they have no variances in some classes.
 Sanjoy posted on Wednesday, June 22, 2005 - 8:01 pm
Dear Professor....This is what I want to do

Y1 and Y2 are the main dependent variables (both of them are binary 0/1). Y1 and Y2 are very much correlated as well.
X’s are the covariates. Total 14 Covaraites