Growth mixture modeling within a coho... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Latent Variable Mixture Modeling >
Message/Author
 Peter Tice posted on Thursday, June 01, 2000 - 9:34 am
I'm new to Mplus but thus far have little trouble running basic growth mixture models based on 4 data waves. However, the 4 data waves contain three age cohorts (e.g., age 12, 15, 18 @ Time 1).
I'd like to run growth mixture models that tranform my analyses of four waves into a cohort-sequential design. The data structure I'm looking to build these growth mixture models from looks like:

Orginal data structure:
t1 t2 t3 t4
12 15 18 25
15 18 21 28
18 21 24 31

Cohort-sequential structure:
t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 t6 t7
12 15 18 21 24(25) 28 31

From the manual I understand that multiple cohort designs can be used for growth modeling, but does that extend to growth mixture modeling. I have yet to find an example. Ideally, with the cohort-sequential design I'd like to compare BIC values in a series of growth mixture models delineating the appropriate number of latent classes. In short, my preference is for one growth mixture model integrating the three cohorts into an analysis spanning ages 12-31; instead of estimating growth mixture models for each age cohort separately (i.e., 12-25; 15-28; 18-31)

Thanks,
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Thursday, June 01, 2000 - 3:01 pm
At the present time, Mplus cannot handle the model you are interested in because mixture models cannot have missing data. The cohort-sequential structure needs TYPE=MISSING. This will be available for mixture models in Version 2 which we plan to release in the Fall of 2000 if all goes well.
 Peter Tice posted on Monday, May 14, 2001 - 1:17 pm
This is a follow up from my original message dated June 1, 2000. I now have access to version 2.0 and need some guidance in setting up the cohort-sequential design.