Reporting negative binomial LGM results PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Cindy Schaeffer posted on Wednesday, December 12, 2012 - 9:48 pm
Sorry if this is a foolish question, I'm still fairly new to analyzing count data. I know that the intercept and slope values obtained in negative binomial LGMs must be exponentiated in order to be interpretable as means. However, I'm less clear about whether or not ALL of the other parameters in the model also need to be exponentiated when reporting results in manuscript tables (when one chooses to report exponentiated I and S values). I assume that I need to also exponentiate (please confirm):

1. the SEs for the growth factors (obviously, so that they are reported in the same scale)
2. Residual variance estimates for the intercept and slope and their SEs (Correct?)
3. estimates and SEs for the regressions of intercept and slope on covariates (Correct? This is the one that's least clear to me)

Thanks!
Cindy
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, December 13, 2012 - 8:37 am
I am not a fan of exponentiating for this model. True, we model the log-mean and therefore the mean is obtained by exponentiating. There is, however, an advantage to staying in the log-mean metric because those coefficients are much closer to being normally distributed so that the symmetric CIs we usually compute as +-1.96*SE are relevant. When you exponentiate, you get a non-normally distributed estimate and you have to adjust to get the right CI. I would just look for sign and significance in the output that you get and report that.

To get a more tangible interpretation of the results I don't think a count mean says very much anyway. I don't have a good feel for how a negbin mean influences the counts. I would instead want to know the estimated probability distribution for the count outcomes 0, 1, 2,. ... Say at the first time point and the last, in order to gauge how much growth occurs.