Longitudinal binary data PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Anonymous posted on Tuesday, November 20, 2001 - 11:13 am
Hi, I am pretty new in this field. I have a data set with the following relationship:

X -> Y -> Z

X, Y and Z are all observable binary longitudinal data. I wonder if Mplus can handle this type of model, if it does, which part of the analysis (e.g. 'path analysis') should be performed? Many thanks for your help!
 bmuthen posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2001 - 8:26 am
Yes, this can be seen as path analysis. In Mplus language you define y and z as categorical and then say:

z on y;
y on x;
 Silvia Sörensen posted on Sunday, May 18, 2003 - 9:44 am
Is it possible to run a parallel process model for a continuous and a categorical variable? I haven't found any examples that combine the parallel process with the
categorical approach.

My continuous variable was measured monthly over 15 months, my categorical (binary) variable at baseline, month 3, month 9 and month 15. I would like to know if one variable "drives" the other.
I'm fairly new at this
Thanks
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Monday, May 19, 2003 - 8:39 am
Yes, it is possible to do that. Just put together a model where one process is continuous with 15 measures and one categorical with four measures. You can put together using Example 22.1 for the continuous outcome and Example 22.1D for the categorical outcomes with/or without the covariates.
 Anonymous posted on Monday, December 06, 2004 - 11:28 am
How much variability is necessary for MPlus to estimate a model? I have binary outcome data and some low base rates (in terms of the presence of the outcome). I have 20 participants measured over 18 time points. When I attempt to run the LGCA, I get the following error message:

THE WEIGHT MATRIX PART OF VARIABLE T1 IS NON-INVERTIBLE. THIS MAY BE DUE TO ONE OR MORE CATEGORIES HAVING TOO FEW OBSERVATIONS. CHECK