LGM in intervention research PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Arun Karpur posted on Tuesday, November 21, 2006 - 1:26 pm
I am researcher working at the Florida Mental Health Institute, and I used to work with Hendricks Brown's PSMG group a couple of year ago.

At this time I am facing a conceptual issue with LGM and its application in intervention studies. Firstly, I am new to LGM as a first line user. I went through Curran and Muthen (1999) article to understand the application of LGM in intervention studies and in this, the example is regarding one control and one treatment group.

At FMHI we are desiging a study to compare three treatment conditions (one control and two intervention)and we hypothesize that treatment two > one > control. We plan to LGM as an analytical method for the study and I wanted to know how could we apply LGM in this context? or at least how could we examine ordinal treatment effects?

I'd really appreciate your guidance with this issue.
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Tuesday, November 21, 2006 - 4:56 pm
You can approach it as a 3-group analysis in line with Muthen-Curran, where you simply check if the treatment effects are ordered as you hypothesize. But the Muthen-Curran approach is really aimed at treatment-baseline interactions and is overly complex if such interactions are not hypothesized. A simpler approach is to have 2 dummy covariates for treatment1 against control and treatment2 against control and then let those dummy variables influence the slope after treatment starts.
 Arun Karpur posted on Wednesday, November 22, 2006 - 4:13 am