Latent growth model with weight variable PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Anonymous posted on Monday, July 08, 2002 - 11:42 am
Dear Linda & Bengt:

I am running Mplus software using LSAY data set. I intend to run a six year logitudinal model including weight variable. However, it seems to me that in LSAY each year has its own weight variable. That is for six time points, there are six weight variables for each year. According to Mplus manual, I can use a weight variable for the whole six year data. I am wondering if you know how to specify these weight variables in Mplus. If you happened to analyze LSAY data set before, would you please inform me which weight variable did you use for a longitudinal analysis? I am a doctoral student and writing up my dissertation by analyzing a latent growth model using LSAY. Your information will be highly appreciated. Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

Chih-chun
 Anonymous posted on Tuesday, July 09, 2002 - 9:17 am
If you can rewrite your model as a univariate type=twolevel you can use time varying weights.
 bmuthen posted on Tuesday, July 16, 2002 - 10:21 am
We have not used weights in our LSAY analyses. I assume that there is also a time-invariant weight variable.
 Anonymous posted on Tuesday, February 15, 2005 - 4:18 pm
Dear Linda and Bengt
I have an LGC model were i have time-varying binary indicators of a "treatment" at each time point. I have calculated an overall Propensity scores model, beforehand thus each individual has a PS score. Hirano et al (2003) use PS scores p(xi), as weights wi, where wi=p(xi)/[1-p(xi)]. What do we know about using the weights wi into an LGC model? Should i trust in the standard errors that MPLUS generates?

Or it is better to incorporate the paths from a PS observed variables predicting the time-varying variable for Treatment effects at each time point.

What are the differences between these two approaches?