LTA with continuous indicators PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Xiao-min Li posted on Sunday, November 16, 2014 - 7:47 am
Dear Doctors:
I'm a Chinese student majoring in psychology in Beijing Normal University and now I am writing message to ask for help.
My graduate teacher wants me to analyze 2-wave longitudinal data (all variables are continuous) to explore behavior patterns and their transition across time. I have download data and syntax examples provided by official website but just found that all examples are about categorical variables. I¡®m wondering that whether I can run LTA with continuous variable. And if it is ok, following are some questions puzzling:
1. Whether estimation method or other specification should be changed in contrast to categorical data.
2. According to examples, number of category should be set in advance, which parameter in output can I use to test its appropriateness except for BIC and AIC for my graduate teacher ask me to provide more evidence;
3. In Latent Class Analysis, savedata syntax can save cprob to help researchers make sure the class each individual belongs to, so is it also possible in latent transition analysis? If possible, how to write the syntax?
That's all. Thanks for your patience and kindness in advance.
Best regards!
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Sunday, November 16, 2014 - 11:50 am
Yes, LTA can also use continuous variables as latent class indicators. In fact, all variable types are allowed, including latent variables, and combinations.

1. No.

2. Apart from BIC you can also use the RESIDUAL option of the OUTPUT command.

3. Try the same approach as for LCA.
 Xiao-min Li posted on Sunday, November 16, 2014 - 5:17 pm
thanks for your answering, I adapt the syntax of Hidden Markov model to the following:
ANALYSIS: ALGORITHM=INTEGRATION;
TYPE=MIXTURE;
MODEL:
%OVERALL%
c2 on c1;
MODEL c1: %c1#1%
[h11$1] (1);
[h12$1] (2);
[h13$1] (3);
%c1#2%
[h11$1] (6);
[h12$1] (7);