Effects of covariates PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Argyris Stringaris posted on Monday, August 04, 2008 - 12:26 pm
Hello,
I am new to growth modeling and my questions may sound rather too basic.
I am running a linear growth model, as in example 6.1, except I only have three non-equidistant time points and, in addition, I am regressing the intercept (i) and slope (s) on an outcome y. When I run the model without covariates (for the regression part of it, ie y ON i s) only the intercept is significant; however, when I include covariates (in the regression, eg y ON i s x1 x2), the estimates for the slope and intercept as such change and the slope becomes significant. I am not quite sure I understand why. Does it mean i and s are conditional upon these covariates?
Many thanks
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Monday, August 04, 2008 - 5:48 pm
The answer is yes - just like in regular regression the regression coefficients are partical coefficients (the effect of one variable holding other constant). Note also that when you include covariates the model may not fit well even if the unconditional model did fit well, in which case the y on i s x1 x2 estimates are not trustworthy.
 Argyris Stringaris posted on Tuesday, August 05, 2008 - 5:51 am
That's very clear and helpful. Thanks.
 Jungmeen Kim posted on Wednesday, January 21, 2009 - 9:45 am
Dear Linda and Bengt,