Small sample size PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Donna Kotsopoulos posted on Thursday, October 02, 2008 - 7:59 am
My apologies for this question. I am new to this type of analysis.

I am studying four students. Examining changes in mathematical cognition over time and fact retrieval following an authentic time lapse in instruction. The students will be tested at four times over the course of the year. The data sources are at home videos created by the students as they think aloud while working on mathematics.

I would like to use latent growth curve analysis as the statistical tool for analysis. I am not clear on whether this small sample size would make this inappropriate or whether there is a better choice.

I would like to examine changes over time in these students' mathematical thinking.

Thanks in advance.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Friday, October 03, 2008 - 9:03 am
This is a very small sample. It might be better to look at these four students qualitatively.
 Anna Wolf posted on Tuesday, December 02, 2014 - 5:03 pm
Dear Drs,

I conducted two separate generalized growth mixture models for two different outcome measures. In each model, the slope of the class trajectories was regressed on intervention status (i.e. using a dummy code: intervention vs control group).

My results showed a three class model was best fit for both models. Intervention effects were significant for one of the trajectories (in both models). However, the size of the classes (and the groups within each class) is very small. In one analysis the intervention group had n = 21 participants and the control n = 2; whilst another had n = 12 experimental and n = 2 in the control.

Are these models still valid given the small n?

P.S. I'd also like to say how useful I find your discussion board and advice - thank you!
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Tuesday, December 02, 2014 - 6:01 pm