Multivariate longitudinal analysis PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 oulhaj posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 - 7:04 am
Hello, I'm new to Mplus. I am wondering if Mplus can perform a Multivariate linear mixed analysis? i.e. where each statistical unit is characterized by a matrix the columns of which are the dependent variables (let us say 5) and the rows are the times of measurement. One way to proceed is to transform the problem to the univariate linear mixed models with a covariance structure of the residual terms being the kronecker product between two matrix (identity and any parametric one). Can we do that with Mplus?

Thanks alot
 bmuthen posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2005 - 12:16 pm
Mplus can do linear mixed modeling with several dependent variables. The growth processes can also be related to each other in flexible ways. See ex 6.13 as an example from the Version 3 User's Guide.
 oulhaj posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2005 - 5:57 am
Many thanks for your quick reply, I really appreciate it .

My question now is : Can we do this analysis in the non balanced case (i.e. non-equally spaced times of mesurement, individually-varying times of observations ... ). If yes, I will be grateful if you can give me the statistical reference you are using to do that.

Again, many thanks for your answer,
 BMuthen posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2005 - 9:19 am
Yes. Perhaps the Raudenbush and Bryk 2002 book could be a useful reference.
 Udaya Wagle posted on Wednesday, September 07, 2011 - 8:57 am
I have some policy variables (x), their outcomes (y), and other covariates (z) measured for different units at unbalanced intervals. I am thinking of y as a function of x and z and then x purely as a function of z. I was trying to use growth modeling approach thinking time is an important factor. But I could not relate this to any specific example in the Users's Guide or other dicussions here.