SEM with Cross Sectional-Time Series ... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 EZalberta posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 5:55 pm
Hi,
I am pretty new to Mplus and to structural equation modeling (SEM) in general. I have a dataset with cross sectional-time series data structure: a list of variables for 170 countries measured across 20 years.

These variables include: dependent variable, which is a count variable; and variables which are supposed to be indicators of 4 latent variables; and finally a set of control variables.

I want to estimate both the independent and interaction effects of the 4 latent variables on the count variable, controlling for the control variables. I wonder whether this type of analysis could be done using structural equation modeling, which type of SEM I should use, and whether MPLUS can achieve this.

Thanks in advance for your help!
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 9:24 am
It sounds like you want to regress a count variable on a set of observed and latent exogenous variables and their interactions. That can be done in Mplus. Each interaction between two latent variables or a latent variable and an observed variable requires one dimension of integration. A model with more than four dimensions of integration is not recommended.
 EZalberta posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 11:09 am
Thanks Linda. This is very helpful!

The interactions in my estimation will be mostly two-way interactions among the 4 latent variables, which means theoretically there can be as many as 6 two-way interactions. Can MPLUS accommodate this many interactions?

Also panel data regression can be estimated by fix-effects and random effects models. If I want to estimate three models: country-level fixed effect model, country and year two-way fixed effects model, and random effect model; can MPLUS do all three? And can you refer me to some example syntax?

Thank you!