Very basic question PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Anonymous posted on Saturday, May 14, 2005 - 12:18 pm
Hi
I am new to multilevel modeling/growth curve modeling and am in need of a VERY basic answer to a simple (and probably silly) question. Could you please help me understand the basic differences between HLM and MPlus? I have a sample of parent-child interactions over 4 time points and want to look at linear change in positive interaction patterns over time. I have some specific child factors (i.e. temperament, medical history) that I want to use as predictors of slope and intercept. Can I do this in either HLM or MPlus or is one better suited than the other? Thank you.
 bmuthen posted on Saturday, May 14, 2005 - 12:33 pm
In terms of standard growth modeling, Mplus and HLM largely overlap. Mplus has advantages of allowing more general modeling. For example, if you want your child factors as predictors of slope and intercept, in HLM you would have to enter a score such as the sum of the items as a proxy for the factor, whereas with Mplus you could have the factor model with its multiple indicators as part of the growth model, avoiding the bias of unreliable scores. Growth mixture modeling is another advantage of Mplus (see for instance Muthén, B. & Muthén, L. (2000). Integrating person-centered and variable-centered analyses: Growth mixture modeling with latent trajectory classes. Alcoholism: Clinical and Experimental Research, 24, 882-891. Contact the first author; mention paper #85).
 Anonymous posted on Sunday, May 15, 2005 - 8:29 am
another basic question:
In standard LGM (no covariates, only one growth factor) the correlation of the intercept and the slope is identical to a direct effect of s ON i (regarding model fit, covariances etc.). Although this effect is simply a direct function of the choice of the position of i, I am interested in this effect.