Multiple Imputation Syntax PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Missing Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Trang Q. Nguyen posted on Saturday, November 10, 2012 - 2:26 pm
Hi,

I am trying to impute missing data in a complex survey data set, and appreciate your help in getting it right. For design I have variables strata for strata, com for clusters and wt for individual weights. I did:

VARIABLE:
NAMES = ...;
USEVARIABLES = ...;
CLUSTER = com;
WEIGHT = wt;
AUXILIARY = id strata ...;

DATA IMPUTATION:
IMPUTE = ...;
SAVE = impute*.dat;

ANALYSIS:
TYPE = BASIC TWOLEVEL;

I read the forum and thought TYPE = BASIC TWOLEVEL would help incorporate the cluster and weight information at least, although it does not use strata information.

However the output says:

"Weight variable (cluster-size scaling)
WT"

which suggests what I did is incorrect. My wt variable is individual weights, not cluster size.

Sorry I am new to Mplus in general and brand new to imputation in Mplus. Please let me know how I should do it.

Thanks much!

Trang
 Tihomir Asparouhov posted on Monday, November 12, 2012 - 2:54 pm
The best solution is to add the weight variable in the imputation

USEVARIABLES = ... wt;

and remove the command

WEIGHT = wt;

Usually the weight variable is computed from other variables such as race gender SES. If that is the case, the best solution is to have these variables in the imputation instead of the weight variable.

You can also add dummy variables for each stratum if you want to use that information.

Bayesian estimation (which is used for the imputation) currently can not use the weight variable directly.
 Trang Q. Nguyen posted on Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 4:04 pm
Thank you, Tihomir.

I'll add dummy variables for the strata.