FMIL and WLSMV PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Categorical Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Ryan Marek posted on Tuesday, December 11, 2012 - 9:15 am
Hello,

I'm currently a graduate student who is new to this area of statistics in general. I apologize in advanced if this has been addressed earlier.

I'm currently modeling some CFAs to produce latent factors at various time points. The indicators are categorical (1 = Presence; 0 = Absence). I have around 800 cases for the first time point, 600 cases for the second time point, and 300 cases for the third time point. I used the WLSMV estimator and found excellent fitting models as well as model invariance. However, I have been told that I should be using FIML to handle my missing data. I'm curious as to what I should do.

Is there a way to use FIML with WLSMV? If not, what would you suggest I do or do you feel the analytic plan is fine as is.

Also, any recommended readings would be most helpful!

Thanks!

-Ryan
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Tuesday, December 11, 2012 - 10:49 am
You can change the estimator to ML and you will be using FIML. With maximum likelihood and categorical dependent variables, numerical integration is required. Each factor requires one dimension of integration. A model with more than four factors can be computationally demanding.
 Ryan Marek posted on Tuesday, December 11, 2012 - 2:31 pm
Thanks for the advice! I have 3 factors for each time point. When doing one dimension of integration, do I just use this syntax or do I need to specify something else?

ANALYSIS:
ALGORITHM = INTEGRATION;
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Wednesday, December 12, 2012 - 5:43 am
You don't need to specify anything to obtain numerical integration is most cases. How many time points do you have?
 Ryan Marek posted on Wednesday, December 12, 2012 - 7:17 am
We're taking two approaches. I am looking to model 3 latent constructs (pre-surgery, 1 month post-surgery, and 3 months post-surgery) for a longitudinal study.