Random parameter Bivariate Ordered Pr... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Categorical Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Behram Wali posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2016 - 6:54 pm
Hello,

I am new to MPlus. I am trying to estimate a bivariate ordered probit model (two equation ordered model with error correlation) with random parameters.

I shall briefly explain random parameters as researchers refer to it with different names. By random parameter model, i mean that some parameters can be fixed i.e. constant parameter estimate for all observations. While other can be random parameters e.g. normally or Weibull distributed random parameters. Thus for random parameters, the routine is expected to give me a mean and standard deviation for each random-held parameter. Limdep/NLOGIT allow random parameter models with simulated maximum likelihood procedures.

One of my professor recommended MPlus but i am not sure if MPlus has such a routine as i could not find any reference in past threads. Any guidance in this regard shall highly be appreciated.

Below is one of the paper that utilized the same approach in different context.
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2213665714000189

-Wali
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Wednesday, April 27, 2016 - 8:53 am
Let me first ask if you are considering a multilevel model with observations nested within clusters.
 Behram Wali posted on Wednesday, April 27, 2016 - 9:19 am
I do not aim at a multilevel model with clusters/groups as we do in random-effect models.

So if i have a two equation ordered probit model, with X and Y number of ind. variables, i would like to allow the ind. variables within each equation to vary across observations as per some pre-defined distribution. Said this, it will be a single-level model with no nested clusters. Thanks
 Tihomir Asparouhov posted on Friday, April 29, 2016 - 9:15 am
I checked the documentation for Limdep. Random parameter models is the same as two-level models.