Interpretation of coefficient PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Categorical Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Damon posted on Sunday, May 16, 2004 - 10:45 am
I'm a mplus novice and have a simple question. Under the categorical outcome analyses examples on your website, you have a path analysis example. In the analysis command, you don't specify "logistic". How then do I interpret the regression coefficients in this model. For example, for y8 on y5, the estimate is .246. I assume that this in not in logodds. Could I use the ouput to determine what the coefficient would be in logodds? Thank you.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Sunday, May 16, 2004 - 10:52 am
With weighted least squares estimation and categorical outcomes, the regression coefficient is a probit regression coefficient. With maximum likelihood estimation and categorical outcomes, the regression coefficient is a logistic regression coefficient or a log odds. Version 3 allows both estimators with categorical outcomes.
 Peggy Tonkin posted on Friday, January 21, 2005 - 11:22 am
I am running mediational models using path analysis with continuous and binary predictors and continuous and binary outcomes. The estimates are WLSMV using the THETA matrix. I am also using the TYPE=GENERAL COMPLEX because I need to use the CLUSTER function (I am looking at students within schools). Which estimates are appropriate to report?--the StdYX? I am assuming the two binary outcomes are probit estimates?

Thank You,
Peggy Tonkin
 BMuthen posted on Saturday, January 22, 2005 - 3:34 pm
The regression coefficients for binary dependent variables with WLSMV are probit regression coefficients. In line with regular regression, I would report raw coefficients as well as StdYX coefficients except when binary covariates are involved.
 Peter Martin posted on Wednesday, September 28, 2005 - 4:59 am
Hello there,