Proportional and Non-Proportional Odd... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Categorical Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Darrin Aase posted on Wednesday, August 05, 2009 - 8:44 am
I've searched the discussion board and not found any posts on this in a couple of years. First, is there an example of testing the proporitonal odds assumption in MPlus for an ordinal outcome, specifically with longitudinal data? Second, is there yet a way to estimate a non-proportional odds model?

Thanks,
Darrin
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Wednesday, August 05, 2009 - 1:09 pm
No direct test of this in Mplus yet. Non-proportional odds model is on the to-do list.
 Salmi Md Zahid posted on Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 12:53 am
Im a beginner user of MPLUS. I would like to know if we can run analysis for Partial proportional Odds Model using latest version of MPLUS? Im not so sure which chapter i should refer to..
 Tihomir Asparouhov posted on Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 4:52 pm
Mplus implements the Brant test.

Take a look at

http://www.jstor.org/stable/2532457?seq=1#page_scan_tab_contents

https://books.google.dk/books?id=CHvSWpAyhdIC&pg=PA143&lpg=PA143&dq=Brant+test&source=bl&ots=WiIkYPB8kK&sig=_BLIzXuR_5JqyRYXKa9PPZK77xE&hl=da&sa=X&ei=vr-nUYixC87Kswar5YGYCQ#v=onepage&q=Brant%20test&f=false

http://www.stata-journal.com/sjpdf.html?articlenum=st0097

There are two ways of doing the model:

1. As a series of binary regressions (see Brant's paper)

2. The full model involves this
Say U =0,1,2 –> create dummy out of the three categories D1 D2
if you have
U on X
you will have to change the model to
U on X, XD1, XD2
If you have q X variables you will have instead 3q X variables.
Before proceeding further you should make sure that you understand the intricacies of the full model and why it doesn't guarantee P>0 as virtually all other models do.
 Salmi Md Zahid posted on Sunday, March 04, 2018 - 8:04 pm