Multiple group analysis in Monte Carl... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Categorical Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Siddhi Pittayachawan posted on Friday, March 12, 2010 - 2:49 am
Hi Muthen,

I am conducting multiple group analysis (i.e. 2 groups) and would like to add Monte Carlo as part of my study. The empirical model was assessed with WLSMV estimation. The ESTIMATES command was used to produce a population data file for the Monte Carlo study. However, when I ran the MC study, it said that "The POPULATION file contains too much data. Check your data."

I am quite new to the MC study, and I am not sure what went wrong. Could you please suggest me?

Regards,

Siddhi
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Friday, March 12, 2010 - 5:53 am
You need to specify you population parameter values using MODEL POPULATION rather than the ESTIMATES option.
 Siddhi Pittayachawan posted on Friday, March 12, 2010 - 2:00 pm
You mean that I simply record the estimated value in the empirical model and fix into the MODEL POPULATION in the Monte Carlo study?
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Friday, March 12, 2010 - 2:22 pm
Yes.
 Siddhi Pittayachawan posted on Friday, March 12, 2010 - 5:51 pm
Then what is the purpose of using the ESTIMATES command to save the population information from the empirical model? I thought that it contains the population values. Could you please elaborate this point?
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Friday, March 12, 2010 - 5:59 pm
The ESTIMATES option does not work for all models. If it works, then you don't have to enter the values. In your case, you must enter the values.
 Siddhi Pittayachawan posted on Friday, March 12, 2010 - 7:28 pm
Thank you very much for your explanation. Now I understand why it never worked.

So I guess that I should not use MODEL POPULATION but MODEL POPULATION-label command to specify each group, am I correct?