reliability measures PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Categorical Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Anonymous posted on Friday, April 15, 2005 - 8:11 am
I am new in the field of CVMs and Mplus. I want to do EFAs (half the sample) and CFAs (half the sample). Categorical variables: 4 or 5 categories. Two questions:

1. How to perform a Pearson chi-square test of bivariate normality within Mplus (see Muthén, 1984)? Is it possible (and really necessary)? (The skewness of most of the items is quite large.)

2. Should I find “good” solutions (scales) and want to report the reliability for the scales (total sample), can I use Cronbach’s ALPHA (calculated in SPSS), because SPSS uses Pearson’s r? What would be proper alternative?

Thank you very much for your help!
 BMuthen posted on Saturday, April 16, 2005 - 4:40 am
1. Mplus does not include tests for underlying normality. These tests are often too sensitive and the exact normality assumption may not be necessary -- see the recent Psych Methods paper on this topic. Skewness is not an issue with categorical outcomes.

2. Cronbach's alpha is for continuous items. If you are interested in how well the factors are measured, you would have to consider information function curves as done in item response theory (IRT). This is not yet available in Mplus.
 Elina Dale posted on Monday, April 15, 2013 - 6:41 pm
Dear Dr. Muthen,

I am trying to conduct reliability eval with cat items. I thought I could use omega coefficient:
omega = (sum of factor loadings)^2 / (sum of uniquenesses + (sum of factor loadings)^2)

Raykov & Marcoulides use it with categorical items as an approximate method because they obtain res variances using ANALYSIS: ESTIMATOR=MLR and do not declare their factor indicators to be categorical. They say it is OK for items with more than 2 possible scores (binary) and with minor clustering effect.