Path analysis with logit regression v... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Categorical Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Anonymous posted on Wednesday, April 27, 2005 - 6:58 pm
Hi everyone, I am a newbie to MPLUS. I have a question about basic logic behind the path analysis with categoical outcome. Why is the probit regression set to be the default model to estimate the path coefficients? Why not use logit regression since it is preferable in population studies? I check the user's guide, but it does not explain the reason. Does anyone come across any paper that explain why? Thanks in advance!
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Thursday, April 28, 2005 - 8:38 am
The probit model is the default in Mplus because it is a more general model than the logit model for multivariate dependent variables. The logit model is also available in Mplus. There are general statistical references describing multivariate logistic distributions and their restrictions related to correlations.
 Achamyeleh Gebremariam posted on Wednesday, October 27, 2010 - 2:32 pm
This is my first time using Mplus as well as doing path analysis.

I have dichotomous outcomes and independent variables that are either dichotomous or nominal (eg. race).

Here is the setup: u1, u2 and u3 are the dichotomous dependent variables and x1 and x2 are independent variables with x2 representing race categories.

VARIABLE: NAMES ARE u1 u2 u3 x1 x2;
CATEGORICAL IS u1 u2 u3;

ANALYSIS: ESTIMATOR = ML;
MODEL: u1 ON u2 u3 x1 x2;
u3 ON x3 ;
u2 ON u3;

A few questions:
a) Is this a correct set up?
b)how do I specify that x2 (race) is a nominal variable?
c) can the coefficients provided be interpreted as path coefficients? or how do I identify the direct and indirect effects?

My goal is to have path coefficients for the relationships and a corresponding significance test. I appreciate your help.

Thank you.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Wednesday, October 27, 2010 - 4:16 pm