1-1-1 Mediation in DSEM + additional ... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Dynamic Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Yogev Kivity posted on Monday, July 09, 2018 - 11:06 am
Hi, I am new to DSEM and Mplus. I am fitting a model for 3 variables that were collected for 88 participants (8-224 observations per participants). y1 is binary. I am interested specifically in the following mediation model:
y1 at t-1 -> y2 at t -> y3 at t
(I realize that the b path does not control for time sequence)
My questions are as follows:
1. To obtain the b path, does it make sense to fit a contemporaneous path (y2->y3) instead of estimating a covariance among the residuals of y2 and y3?
2. The mediation model I am interested in is 1-1-1 (all estimates are within person) but I could not find a way to estimate a*b path on the within effects, unless I set them to be fixed (see code below). Is there a way to estimate the model at the within level?
Thanks,
Yogev
Here is the code that I was able to fit:
%WITHIN%
y1Byy11 | y1 ON y1&1;
y1 ON y2&1 (y1Byy21);
y1Byy31 | y1 ON y3&1;
y2Byy11 | y2 ON y1&1;
y2Byy21 | y2 ON y2&1;
y2Byy31 | y2 ON y3&1;
y3Byy11 | y3 ON y1&1;
y3Byy21 | y3 ON y2&1;
y3Byy31 | y3 ON y3&1;
y3 ON y2 (y3Byy20);
logv1 | y2;
logv2 | y3;
%BETWEEN%
y2 y3 y1 y1Byy11-logv2 WITH y2 y3 y1 y1Byy11-logv2;
model constraint:
new (y3Byy20Byy11); y3Byy20Byy11=y1Byy21*y3Byy20;
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Monday, July 09, 2018 - 5:59 pm
1. Yes.

2. Your case is quite complex from a mediation modeling point of view. Not only do you want to have random slopes in a twolevel setting but you also have longitudinal data. Both features call for special considerations. For the former you can check the Preacher pdf at http://www.statmodel.com/download/Preacher.pdf. For the latter you could read the Cole & Maxwell 2003 article in Journal of Abnormal Psychology; the 2016 SEM article by Deboeck and Preacher (No need to be discrete) is also relevant.