No convergence PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Exploratory Factor Analysis >
Message/Author
 Eulalia Puig posted on Monday, October 29, 2007 - 6:16 pm
I am new to MPlus. Trying to do EFA, although I've done this extensively in SPSS. I am trying to fit 1 and 2 factor models with 6 items, and for the 2-factor case, MPlus gives me the message:

NO CONVERGENCE. NUMBER OF ITERATIONS EXCEEDED. PROBLEM OCCURRED IN EXPLORATORY ANALYSIS WITH 2 FACTOR(S).

I just don't know what this is about.
The items are either on a 0-7 or 0-4 Likert scale - any ideas?

Thanks! Lali
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Tuesday, October 30, 2007 - 6:08 am
Please send your input, data, output, and license number to support@statmodel.com.
 Jason Pierce posted on Thursday, June 18, 2009 - 10:05 am
Hi,

I am experiencing a similar problem. In my case, I have 8 items each with a 9 point scale that may load on one or two factors. When I try to do the EFA, I find that the solution will not converge for two factors. Any suggestions?

Should I send you the data and the code as you asked of others in the past?

Thanks,
Jason
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Thursday, June 18, 2009 - 10:17 am
Please send your input, data, output, and license number to support@statmodel.com.
 Sarah Martin posted on Monday, October 12, 2009 - 8:14 pm
Was there ever any resolution these? I'd be interested in hearing the conclusion to these problems.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Tuesday, October 13, 2009 - 5:31 am
These types of problems require looking at the specific data/model situation. They require going through support and sending the appropriate files.
 Michael Baum posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 1:12 pm