Parallel Processes - Part 1 PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Latent Variable Mixture Modeling >
Message/Author
 James Swartz posted on Monday, February 11, 2008 - 11:01 am
I am relatively new to mPlus and still feeling my way around but I already have a question about what seems to me to be a fairly complex model that fits somewhere within growth mixture modeling (GMM), latent transition analysis (LTA), and modeling parallel processes. Here is the conceptual issue:

I have a longitudinal data set with up to 43 different time points (semi-annual measurements) for a group of about 4,000 individuals. I want to model their HIV risk behavior defined over time. In this instance, I want to develop the measure using item response theory analyses first to obtain a continuous, repeated measure for HIV risk.

I am then interested in relating this continuous repeated measure to substance use, which cross-sectional analyses tells me can be represented by 4 latent classes.

The analytic problem is that I expect both substance use latent class as well as HIV risk to vary over time and I want to capture both their variations and covariations over time but how? It seems the best way to capture variation in HIV risk is to do LCGA or GMM and the best way to capture variation in substance use is to use LTA. But can these two techniques be combined to show how the time-varying pattern of substance use affects the time-varying pattern of HIV risk?

Message continues ----

JAS
 James Swartz posted on Monday, February 11, 2008 - 11:03 am
---- Message continues