LCA/LTA using multiply imputed data PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Latent Variable Mixture Modeling >
Message/Author
 Keri Jowers posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 7:19 pm
I’m getting ready to do an LTA with 2 time points using a multiply imputed dataset based on 10 smaller datasets. I’ve done LCA, but not LTA, and this is my first time working with MI data.

My understanding is that the steps should be as follows:
(1) Fit time 1 LCA using the MI data (with Type=Imputation).
(2) Fit time 2 LCA using the MI data.
(3) Using the thresholds for the best fitting model for the time 1 LCA as start values, run the LCA on one of the smaller component datasets. Do the same for time 2 with the same smaller dataset.
(4) Perform the LTA using the smaller dataset used for the LCAs.

Is that right? If so, when I do step 3, I get different class proportions from the MI and smaller datasets, meaning that the conditional probabilities for individuals are different in the 2 models. How do I resolve that?

Thanks so much for your help!
 Keri Jowers posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 7:26 pm
A clarification on my question: The class proportions are different at the same time point when I use the MI and smaller dataset.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 9:01 am
What do you mean by a multiply imputed dataset based on 10 smaller datasets?
 Keri Jowers posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 9:24 am
Excellent question. This is data I inherited, so my explanation may be a little fuzzy, but it looks like it's actually 10 MI datasets that have been stacked (using Stata). So, the guidance I got was to run the LCA on the stacked data to get start values, then to run the LCA on one of the MI datasets to get cprobs. I suppose I'm unclear as to why, when I do that, I get different class proportions. And then, when I start the LTA, do I use the stacked data or one of the MI datasets? Thanks so much for your patience -- I'm in unfamiliar territory.