GMM with predictor covariates and dis... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Growth Modeling of Longitudinal Data >
Message/Author
 Miguel Freitas posted on Monday, June 02, 2014 - 9:44 am
Hi,
I am new to MPlus and I am a bit lost in all the information available.
I am interested in identifying different trajectories of a continuous indicator (3 time-points), as well as a set of cavariates that predicts class inclusion. Finally, I want to see if the trajectories have different consequences (distal outcomes at T3 - continuous).
Below is my syntax:

MODEL:
%OVERALL%
int slp | sw1@0 sw2@1 sw3@2;
int WITH slp;

int slp ON sex Excl1 Vict1 PrSoc1 F_Inv1 FQ1 M_SSup1 M_NgI1 M_Pow1;

C#1-C#3 ON sex Excl1 Vict1 PrSoc1 F_Inv1 FQ1 M_SSup1 M_NgI1 M_Pow1;

%c#1%
int;
slp;

%c#2%
int;
slp;

%c#3%
int;
slp;

%c#4%
int;
slp;

My questions are:
1. Is it necessary to include the regression command of the intercept and slope in all classes (or just in the Overall model)?
2. How to compare the trajectories regarding the distal outcomes?

Thank you!
Miguel
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Tuesday, June 03, 2014 - 5:58 pm
1. The standard and more parsimonious approach is to not let the regression vary across classes, so you specify it only in Overall.

2.The distal outcome means will vary across classes as the default. If you want to test mean differences you label these means and then compute their difference in Model Constraint. if you don't want to include the distal in the model, you can study these means using the Auxiliary option DCON.

Note that as a first step you may want to use the default of class-invariant variances and therefore not mention int, slp in each class.
 Miguel Freitas posted on Wednesday, June 04, 2014 - 3:51 am
Hello, Professor,

Thank you for your reply!

I've tried using your suggestion, but I keep getting this error message:

*** ERROR in VARIABLE command
Unrecognized type in the AUXILIARY option: DCON