Modeling methods_Simultaneous Eq's_Ca... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Categorical Data Modeling >
Message/Author
 Vivo Gharib posted on Monday, February 01, 2016 - 7:23 am
Dear Dr. Muthen
A]My research: A System of 3 Simultaneous Eq's with 3 endog responses which r binary & ordinal & r observed. I am hypothesizing a simultaneous relationship between them. Cross-sectional study. Sample size 500. Suppose the system is identified.

B]My Objective: to model my sys. by at least 2 modeling techniques & choose the best, referring to the theoretical framework. I am very new with this topic. I need to confirm correctness of some deduced points:
1)Simultaneous Eq's in case of categ responses can be modeled by: a) Traditional regression methods using the approach of the Generalized Linear Modeling b) Regression methods using the approach of Latent Response Formulation c) Path Analysis d) SEM
2)In (a&b) no mediation nor latent construct analysis
3)Estimation methods for (a) & for (b) r the same e.g. 2-stage IV, 3-stage IV, LIML, FIML,

C]My questions for you: 1)If I don't do mediation analysis in (c&d) nor latent construct analysis in (d), will the 4 techniques give similar results about: the estimators' significance, the estimators' values & the MSE? & then the comparison doesn't make sense. 2)In contrast, if I do the mentioned analyses, & in (a&b) the latent constructs r created by traditional factor analysis, will the 4 tech.'s give different results?
Best Regards
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Monday, February 01, 2016 - 6:23 pm
If you just have 3 equations with no cross-equation restrictions or any path analysis going on, I think your ML (or Bayes) solution when analyzing all 3 together in one run will be the same as doing the 3 separately.

I don't know how the 4 estimators compare.
 Vivo Gharib posted on Tuesday, February 02, 2016 - 6:32 pm
Dear Dr. Muthen
I think my message wasn't clear enough.
Suppose my system of the 3 simultaneous equations is:
Y1 = f1 (Y2, Y3, X1)