Factor weights PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Exploratory Factor Analysis >
Message/Author
 di phu posted on Friday, February 09, 2007 - 9:39 pm
I am new to Mplus (just learning to use it at my university) and have a question regarding factor scores and weights. I have read most of the messages and realize that Mplus won't give factor scores for an EFA with categorical data, and that it is suggested to set up a EFA in a CFA context. However, in the past when factor analyzing categorical items in SAS I'd create a tetrachoric correlation matrix and then have SAS factor analyze that matrix. My understanding is that this is basically what Mplus does. With the command "score" SAS would then give me the factor weights which I could then use to create factor scores. I am wondering if one can do this in Mplus when the ULS estimator is used (as I understand it that is the estimator used in SAS). If not is it because there is something inherently wrong in doing this or just because of how Mplus is set up. I would like to move to Mplus but don't really feel like setting up 70 some items in a CFA context.

Thanks!
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Saturday, February 10, 2007 - 10:49 am
It is incorrect to compute the factor scores for categorical outcomes by using factor weights from an analysis of a tetrachoric correlation matrix. The parameter estimates from such an analysis are correct but the necessary posterior distribution needs to take into account the categorical nature of the data. This is done by using an iterative procedure to estimate the factor scores in line with IRT. This is how Mplus estimates factor scores for categorical outcomes. Although you could analyze a tetrachoric correlation matrix in Mplus just like you do in SAS and you could use the factor loadings to create factor scores, this would not be correct.