Parallel Process Modeling PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 james mckowen posted on Saturday, March 04, 2006 - 1:15 pm
Hi, i am VERY VERY new to MPlus. Is there a good "beginners" article to explain Parallel Process modeling? I'm hopeing to examine the relations between depression (using dimensional measures) and substance use (also dimensional) with a number of covariates as potential mediators and moderators. Also, I have 4 time points and an n=450. Any issues with this?
 bmuthen posted on Sunday, March 05, 2006 - 5:57 am
I can't think of an applied article off hand, although they probably exist. We teach this topic in our annual 5-day course (Day 2)and have a handout for that day which can be requested off our web site. We also have an example in the User's Guide. Essentially, here are the steps we recommend:

1. Analyze each process separately, without covariates and then with covariates.

2. Analyze the 2 processes jointly without covariates. Remember that the correlations between the outcomes of the 2 processes are due to (a) correlations between the growth factors and also (b) more directly via correlated residuals for the 2 processes, particularly for residuals at the same time point. Point (b) is often ignored which leads to too much correlation being channeled through the growth factors, sometimes making them correlate 1.

3. Add covariates.
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Sunday, March 05, 2006 - 8:03 am
See Example 6.13 in the Mplus User's Guide. This shows the input for a parallel process growth model.
 Matthew Cole posted on Friday, August 10, 2007 - 11:11 am
I'm trying to figure out how to plot the two processes on the same figure. When I run the imput below I get two seperate plots for process 1 and process 2. Is there anyway to combine the two processes onto one figure? Thanks, Matt

TYPE = plot3;
series = copebl-copef(s1) | thrtbl-thrtf(s2);
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Tuesday, August 14, 2007 - 3:12 pm