Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Rosalind Arden posted on Wednesday, August 23, 2006 - 10:42 am
1) Please could someone advise me whether the courses

October 2006

* Day 1: Traditional Latent Variable Modeling Using Mplus
* Day 2: Growth Modeling With Latent Variables Using Mplus

are suitable for a complete beginner?

2)It would be marvellous to have a book like 'The little SAS book, or Julie Pallant's wonderful "SPSS Survivor's Guide' written for MPLus - has anyone considered writing such a book? I think it would broaden access and enhance the experience for people, like me, who don't have colleagues nearby to point them in the right direction.
 Matthew Cole posted on Wednesday, August 23, 2006 - 11:05 am
I have found the best way to learn mplus is to get some introductory books on sem and complete the exercises using mplus. Also, the movies that Bengt has recorded are great tools to take you through some of the most common procedures.
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Wednesday, August 23, 2006 - 7:19 pm
Answer to Rosalind Arden:

1) Yes, the upcoming Day 1 training in Baltimore is suitable for beginners of latent variable modeling. Linear regression is, however, a prerequisite. Many individuals - even experienced SEM analysts - underestimate how much they can learn from this day and than hampers their learning in subsequent days.

2) We hope to produce many very applied Mplus books. And perhaps longer, 2-week courses (40 hours) if there is interest. In the meanwhile, my UCLA 10-week course could be watched on your computer.
 Rosalind Arden posted on Thursday, August 24, 2006 - 11:20 am
Thank you, Matthew, and Bengt for your replies. I'll see if I can come to the upcoming training days in Baltimore.