2 Indicator Latents PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Structural Equation Modeling >
Message/Author
 Natasha Mendoza posted on Thursday, December 17, 2009 - 10:31 am
I am brand new to using MPlus and I just started the 1st online short course today(Thanks for that!). In the course, Bengt says, (not exact) "we see a lot of literature in which people build models with 2 indicator latent variables- we strongly discourage this because the factor must borrow [too much?] infomation from the rest of the model." I have a model in which three latent factors are made up of two continuous indicators each. They are all predicted by one continuous indicator and two of the factors predict the third (I am testing mediation of two of the factors). Model fits great. Questions: 1. Is this okay or am I making a big mistake by building these types of latents? 2. What did Bengt mean by "borrow" information? Much Thanks! Tasha Mendoza
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, December 17, 2009 - 12:34 pm
1. It depends on how you have arrived at your 2 indicators per factor. If they are selected from a larger set of indicators by factor analysis and found to be good indicators for which the factor model holds, then fine. If not, there are risks of model mis-specification (see 2.)