Analysis Advice PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Tom Hildebrandt posted on Monday, February 20, 2006 - 10:48 am
I have a analysis question that I was hoping to get some advice on. I am new to multilevel modeling so please point me elsewhere if you think it more appropriate. I want to make sure that this approach is appropriate before proceeding.

Each participant rates a set of 30 pictures for attractivienss (0-9 scale)2 times in the same assessment (Long-term mate vs. Short-term mate). Each picture differs by level of body fat (1-6) and muscle malss (1-5). The relationships between Attractivenss FAT & MUSC are quadratic. Thus a 3-D graph of attractiveness by fat & muscle would look like a mountain peeking at level 3 Fat & level 3 Muscle.

I'm interested whether GENDER, RACE/ETHNICITY, & RELATIONSHIP STATUS differentially predict the pattern of Attractiveness ratings for short term vs long term mates.

I am also interested in the amount of variability in attractiveness ratings explained by FAT & MUSC.

Could this be examined in a Multilevel model where GENDER, RACE/ETHNICITY, & RELATIONSHIP STATUS were level 2 predictors and ATTRATCTIVENESS as a function of FAT & MUSC were Level 1?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts?
 bmuthen posted on Monday, February 20, 2006 - 6:35 pm
Instead of a multilevel approach, a multivariate approach is more flexible. This would use 30 variables per participant where you can freely model the relationships among the 30 variables. You need a large number of participants, however, but that is true also for a 2-level approach.
 Tom Hildebrandt posted on Monday, February 20, 2006 - 8:22 pm
Thank you for the advice. Would 300 be a large enough sample?
 bmuthen posted on Tuesday, February 21, 2006 - 3:25 pm
It might be sufficient, but is on the small side.
 Mari Kim posted on Thursday, January 14, 2010 - 9:17 am
I have some questions to clarify my models.