Cluster Size PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Allison Tracy posted on Wednesday, February 20, 2002 - 8:08 am
When I subset my data (say include only Caucasian subjects), I get clusters with only one observation in them. How does this affect the analysis and should I omit clusters with fewer than a certain number of cases?
 bmuthen posted on Wednesday, February 20, 2002 - 10:01 am
You should keep all clusters, even those with only 1 member. Clusters with one member contribute to estimation of between-level parameters. They don't contribute to within-level parameters, resulting in less within-level power.
 Anonymous posted on Thursday, June 12, 2003 - 12:16 pm
I’m a beginner with Mplus and have questions about the cluster option and the necessary number of clusters for a two-level analysis.

(1) Am I right in assuming that the cluster option – compared to an “ordinary” analysis (SEM, REGRESSION, …) – simply corrects the SE’s for the fact of nonindependent observations?

(2) Is there a lower limit for the number of clusters when doing two-level analysis? I think I read something about that in a paper of Hox, but I can’t remember where.

Thanks
 Linda K. Muthen posted on Thursday, June 12, 2003 - 2:21 pm
1. TYPE=COMPLEX adjusts standard errors and chi-square for nonindependence.

2. I think a lower limit would be 30-50. This is the sample size for the between part of the model.
 Anonymous posted on Thursday, January 29, 2004 - 4:30 pm
I have a question regarding Muthen's 2/20/2002 response to Allison Tracy (above).

I'm using Mplus to construct a multilevel SEM with an "intercepts as outcome" parameterization. I find that a notable proportion (40%) of my Level-2 units have sample sizes of j=1.