Between effects in Random Slopes Models PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Kate Barford posted on Tuesday, April 12, 2016 - 7:37 pm
Hi There,

I'm very new to MPLUs. I am running two-level model and testing a cross-level interaction (moderation). I've been advised that, using the approach below, my between effects are actually between minus within effects, so I should add back in the within variance using model constraint. My question is, does this also apply to my moderation effect? Should I also have a model constraint adding back in the within variance to my moderation effect?

BETWEEN are OI; !only varies between individuals
CLUSTER are id; !level 2 is person
ANALYSIS:
TYPE is TWOLEVEL RANDOM;

MODEL:
%WITHIN%
sMixlfb| likefb ON mixKN;

%BETWEEN%
likefb ON mixKN (LC);!(between-within)
[sMixlfb] (LW); !Within effect
sMixlfb ON OI; !moderation effect

Model constraint:
new(LB);! true between effect of likeFB on mixKN
LB = LC+LW;

Thank you.
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 1:58 pm
Not clear on the advise you got. First, note that with a random slope, the x variable (mixKN) needs to be declared as a Within variable - no latent variable decomposition into Within and Between takes place in this case. See UG ex 9.1 and 9.2.

This means that on Between you need to create a cluster-mean version of mixKN.

Note also that when you add the moderator variable OI, the mean of the random slope is no longer [sMixlfb} - that's just the intercept.
 Kate Barford posted on Thursday, April 21, 2016 - 10:35 pm
Thank you for your clear and very helpful response. I just have one question about example 9.2

VARIABLE: NAMES = y x w xm clus;
WITHIN = x;
BETWEEN = w xm;
CLUSTER = clus;
! CENTERING = GRANDMEAN (x);
DEFINE: CENTER x (GRANDMEAN);
ANALYSIS: TYPE = TWOLEVEL RANDOM;
MODEL:
%WITHIN%
s | y ON x;
%BETWEEN%
y s ON w xm;
y WITH s;